35 Comments

Right now, 'The Wager,' by David Grann, his new book about a shipwreck on a tiny island off the coast of Chile, and what happened to what was left of the crew after. After that, going to read Grann's 'The Lost City of Z' and 'Killers of the Flower Moon'

Expand full comment

I love to read beach reads during summer so I have several of Elin Hilderbrand and Meg Mitchell Moores books on my TBR. I just finished reading Bad Summer People and if you love totally unlikeable characters, this one is for you.

Expand full comment
Jun 18, 2023Liked by Books on GIF

I grabbed James Kestrel's Five Decembers at the library when no one showed up for a tutoring session this week and it got me interested to learn more about the Pacific Theater during WWII. I picked out the first of Ian Toll's Pacific War Trilogy on Audible but would appreciate other recommendations as well.

http://www.hardcasecrime.com/books_bios.cgi?title=Five%20Decembers

https://www.audible.com/pd/Pacific-Crucible-War-at-Sea-in-the-Pacific-1941-1942-Audiobook/B0062CHMRE

Expand full comment

I’m spending sometime in NYC this summer so I’m thinking of picking up Happy Hour by Marlowe Granados - feels like the perfect summer in nyc beach read equivalent.

Expand full comment
Jun 18, 2023Liked by Books on GIF

Working my way through Birnam Wood and while it's plotty and propulsive I'd happily sit and listen to Catton just describe the inner workings of everyone involved. Next up All The Sinners Bleed after loving Razorblade Tears.

Expand full comment

My summer reading consists of opposites. I have a stack of travel books from Tim Moore, A.A. Gill, Bruce Chatwin, and mixed into those are Cell from Stephen King and My Heart is a Chainsaw from Stephen Graham Jones. Can't give up the scary books just because it's bright and sunny.

Expand full comment
Jun 18, 2023Liked by Books on GIF

I am rereading The Street by Ann Petry for a book group and then reading David Copperfield, followed by Demon Copperhead, for a buddy read along. For fluff, I have the latest Elin Hilderbrand and am currently reading Saturday Night at the Lakeside Supper Club by J. Ryan Stradal. I am mixing it up!

Expand full comment

I’ve got This is How You Lose the Time War on my TBR shelf.

Expand full comment

Probably going to read Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and see what's that about.

Expand full comment

#1 is read more BOOKS instead of tweets, posts, texts, etc. 🤪

Also:

Brandon Taylor "The Late Americans"

Mark Ellison "Building: A Carpenter's Notes on Life & the Art of Good Work"

Kaoru Takamura "Lady Joker Vol 1" (I might need help with this one--anyone know of an online book group?)

Peter Orner "Am I Alone Here"

Nadia Eghbal "Working in Public: the Making and Maintenance of Open Source Software"

I am also hedging my social media addiction by joining a Twitter list called #DeWitt2023 to read Helen DeWitt's "The Last Samurai" in August even though I've read it a couple of times because I love it so much.

Expand full comment
Jun 19, 2023Liked by Books on GIF

For now I have Fahrenheit 451, Swastika Night by Katharine Burdekin and Elatsoe by Darcie Little Badger on my list to finish this month. But of course, more books to come in July and August that I haven't decided yet!

Expand full comment
Jun 21, 2023Liked by Books on GIF

I’ll be starting This is How You Lose the Time War in a minute, then listening to Coronation Year.

Expand full comment
Jun 22, 2023Liked by Books on GIF

I’ve been reading quite a few rom-coms so far this spring/summer. But my birthday is next month so I’m hoping to find an exciting new summer thriller release.

Expand full comment

I’m so late to this conversation, but I’m also reading Trust and it’s brilliant! Just finished some Eve Babitz which was also wonderful but still trying to find that elusive Perfect Summer Read.

Expand full comment

We’re taking a look at Search History by Amy Taylor - great to see an Australian novelist having a breakout.

Expand full comment