40 Comments
Apr 2, 2023Liked by Books on GIF

Book Club reading is keeping me busy: “The Alchemist”, “Emma Bovary”, and “Confessions of Frannie Langton” by Sara Collins.

Expand full comment
Apr 2, 2023Liked by Books on GIF

How High We Go in the Dark was interconnected short story perfection, Our Missing Hearts was the best Celeste Ng so far, and Big Swiss is the chaotic, hyped, goblin-era mess that I can't wait to see adapted onscreen. Speaking of which, Jean Kyoung Frazier's Pizza Girl (which was another messy, queer and totally awesome read) I'm noticing everywhere working writing for both Lucky Hank and Beef and generally killing it.

Expand full comment
Apr 2, 2023Liked by Books on GIF

Best novel I've read this year (I think it was this year): Cloud Cuckoo Land by Anthony Doerr.

Creepiest thriller: Hidden Pictures by Jason Rekulak.

Longest fantasy wherein the action was not well-described and so the payoff at the end wasn't worth the effort: The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon.

Helpful self-help: The Practice of Groundedness by Brad Stulberg.

Currently reading: The Lincoln Highway by Amor Towles; Sounds Like Titanic by Jessica Chiccehitto Hindman.

Expand full comment
Apr 2, 2023Liked by Books on GIF

I’m reading “Solenoid” by Mircea Cartarescu. I’ve never read anything quite like it before!

Expand full comment

The Dead are Gods by Eirinie Carson!

Expand full comment

Book club has had several excellent reads in a row, including Maame and I Have Some Questions for You (which seems to be a polarizing book, but I thoroughly loved it, though I have not read her other books, which seem to be the deciding factor on whether people loved it or were disappointed!). I just picked up Damnation Spring from a few years ago and can already tell it's going to be a big, sweeping story that I'm in the mood for this spring. Think I'll also grab Community Board for something lighter!

Expand full comment
Apr 3, 2023Liked by Books on GIF

I’m currently reading “Build Your House Around My Body” by Violet Kupersmith and “Compromised Into A Scandalous Marriage” by Lydia San Andres. I’m looking forward to reading “Mad Honey” by Jodi Picoult.

Expand full comment

I’m in the middle of This Time Tomorrow by Emma Straub. So good!

Expand full comment
Apr 3, 2023Liked by Books on GIF

I am currently reading: Growing Vegetables by Buckingham and Whittingham and Cleopatra by Stacy Schiff. Recently read books that I liked: The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro, Diary of a Void by Emi Yagi, and Other Voices, Other Rooms by Truman Capote.

Expand full comment
Apr 3, 2023Liked by Books on GIF

Reading Free Food For Millionaires and really like the characters. Also reading The Death of the Necromancer by the author who wrote the Murder Bot Diaries. Love it. Have put aside The Quick & the Dead and Olga Dies Dreaming. Just finished Less is Lost which at first I didn't like but in the end I loved just like the first one, Less. Also just finished The False Inspector Dew which was pretty damn funny.

Expand full comment
Apr 3, 2023Liked by Books on GIF

Book discussion last month was The Seed Keeper by Diane Wilson. It was chosen for the community-wide read and there's so much to talk about! This month is Deacon King Kong by James McBride. I also read We All Want Impossible Things by Catherine Newman and absolutely loved it. So many good books!

Expand full comment
author

As I said in the original post, I'm looking to review The Cabinet and Donna Tartt, and maybe even The World According to Garp in the near future. But my lineup constantly changes, so feel free to suggest some titles or genres you'd like to see on BoG!

Expand full comment
Apr 3, 2023Liked by Books on GIF

My favorite this year so far has been The Swimmers by Julie Otsuka. So smart and clever, handling dementia. Also enjoyed Maame, Black Cake and Ms. Demeanor. Have felt the need to read lighter fare, not sure why. Looking forward to finishing up Hilary Mantel’s Thomas Cromwell trilogy and maybe a reread of Garp, depending upon what you think. I read it when I was 18 and couldn’t put it down. I have had trouble getting into other John Irving novels and was disappointed with The Last Chairlift. Also have the new Rebecca Makkai on my pile. Loved and was crushed by The Great Believers.

Expand full comment

I just finished reading The Salt Path, a memoir, which was engaging, heartfelt & heartbreaking. Working my way through Braiding Sweetgrass, A Year of Magical Thinking, and Dust Tracks on A Road. Guess I'm into memoirs right now!

Expand full comment