37 Comments
author

I should mention that the first book I'll review this fall is 'The Master and Margarita' by Mikhail Bulgakov, which hits inboxes on Sunday!

Expand full comment
Sep 22, 2021Liked by Books on GIF

I’ll definitely be reading ‘The Master and Margarita’, but just now I’m reading ‘The Hakawati’ by Rabih Alameddine and ‘An Equal Music’ by Vikram Seth. Alameddine also just published ‘The Wrong End of the Telescope’, which sounds very complex and intriguing.

Expand full comment
Sep 22, 2021Liked by Books on GIF

The Book of Form and Emptiness by Ruth Ozeki is next on deck for me.

Expand full comment
Sep 22, 2021Liked by Books on GIF

I’m reading Hamnet by Maggie O’Farrell

Expand full comment

I didn't have a ton of standouts from my summer reading selections this year, but I'm looking forward to my fall reads. I'm rereading Dune soon (and maaay have assigned myself a story about it for work so I really have to do it), and no joke - I have Tokyo Ueno Station out from the library right now, so I'll be reading that as well. And I'm excited about the new Ruth Ozeki and Fault Lines by Emily Itami — both holds just became available for me. I have a looot of reading to do and can't slack off like I did this summer.

Expand full comment
Sep 22, 2021Liked by Books on GIF

I am reading "Outline" by Rachel Cusk, which I am really enjoying so far. Next I have "Trick Mirror" by Jia Tolentino. I also want to read "Three Women" by Lisa Taddeo since everyone raves about it. Also, "Conviction" by Denise Mina as recommended by Ellen K.! (P.S. I flew threw "Severance" and enjoyed it. Could not believe this book published in 2018 was discussing N95 masks and Netflix promotions about staying in during lockdown/quarantine. Spooky prophetic!)

Expand full comment
Sep 22, 2021Liked by Books on GIF

I'm currently reading an ARC of Cloud Cuckoo Land by Anthony Doerr (comes out September 28th) and LOVING it. It reminds me a bit of David Mitchell's Cloud Atlas, which I also loved. Having been reminded of Mitchell's work I'm planning to read another book of his, The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet. I don't actually know much about it or whether it has "fall" vibes, I'm just assuming it's seasonally appropriate because it has the word 'autumns' in the title!

Expand full comment
Sep 23, 2021Liked by Books on GIF

My next read is Breasts and Eggs by Mieko Kawakami, on my way to pick up my hold today from the Astoria Bookshop! And then looking forward to Fault Lines by Emily Itami and Forestborn, a YA debut novel by my former roommate Elayne Becker. Been needing a good fantasy YA to sink my teeth into for a while and what better time than fall!

Expand full comment
Sep 24, 2021Liked by Books on GIF

Currently finishing Joy Luck Club, a book I've been putting off since high school. lol Like a few others mentioned, looking forward to Ruth Ozeki's new one. I read A Tale for the Time Being in January, and it's turning out to be my favorite so far this year.

Expand full comment
Sep 24, 2021Liked by Books on GIF

I haven't had the attention span to read much lately, but Sally Rooney's new book has been enjoyable so far!

Expand full comment
Oct 27, 2021Liked by Books on GIF

I'm a huge Nordic noir fan and lately many of my reads have been either set in Iceland, or written by Icelandic authors. Just started rereading "Burial Rites" by Hannah Kent. Fascinating story based on a real life character in the early part of 19th century Iceland. Yrsa Sigurðardottir's "The Day is Dark" is next on my list.

Expand full comment