28 Comments
Sep 5, 2021Liked by Books on GIF

I have been very curious about The Transit of Venus since I read your review! This is super cheesy but I just finished “Nine Perfect Strangers” by Liane Moriarty because I’d started watching the show on Hulu and was impatient to find out what happens. It was corny as all get out but I zipped through it. I just started “Severence” by Ling Ma.

Expand full comment
Sep 5, 2021Liked by Books on GIF

Purchased “Afterparties” by Anthony Veasna So last weekend and love the stories in it so far. Such a shame that he died so young.

Expand full comment

"Belly of the Beast: The Politics of Anti-Fatness as Anti-Blackness" was a great non-fiction read. "Breast and Eggs" is the best fiction read of the summer!

Expand full comment
Sep 5, 2021Liked by Books on GIF

I loved “Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead” so much! The plot captured me from the very beginning, and the gorgeous writing made me feel like I was on the mountainside with the characters.

Expand full comment
Sep 5, 2021Liked by Books on GIF

Autobiography of a Face + Truth and Beauty combo

Expand full comment
Sep 6, 2021Liked by Books on GIF

My Struggle - Book One, Karl Ove Knausgard

Expand full comment

Detransition, Baby was a great new release and I’m excited to revisit A Sport and a Pastime, a summer reread fave!

Expand full comment

The Three-Body Problem by Cixin Liu (translated by Ken Liu). Science fiction based on some real physics. Also a good dose of history and politics. Some parts feel dull but overall a book with imaginative setting and plot.

Expand full comment
Sep 8, 2021Liked by Books on GIF

I finally broke down and read Wolf Hall, and really dug it. I also listened to Rebecca on a solo road trip, thanks to your rec, and it was an engrossing, creepy companion.

Expand full comment
Sep 23, 2021Liked by Books on GIF

OK, I’m a few weeks late to this, but I wanted to chime in and say I read a great beach read this summer: “The Plot” by Jean Hanff Korelitz, which was a light, fun, page-turner/thriller with themes that will appeal to book lovers. I also really enjoyed “Lake Success” by Gary Shteyngart, wherein he made me care about a clueless super-wealthy hedge fund manager. I recently read that Shteyngart was a consultant for the TV show “Succession,” which makes a lot of sense after reading “Lake Success.”

Expand full comment