6 Comments
author

One novel I would definitely give as a gift this year is ‘Girl, Woman, Other’ by Bernardino Evaristo. It was the best book I read this year. https://booksongif.substack.com/p/girl-woman-other-by-bernardine-evaristo

Expand full comment
Nov 25, 2020Liked by Books on GIF

Based on your review, I gave "Passing" to my father, who you know, and who is an older British (white) man living in Italy. He love it very much and finished it without even trying in two days. He was completely unfamiliar with the concept of 'passing,' so that may have played a role. But he also very much enjoyed the book as literature, which was, and remains, his focus in life.

Expand full comment
author

Oh wow! I'm so glad to hear he enjoyed it! That book succeeds on so many levels. Aesthetically. Politically. Historically. Psychologically. And it's just so damn interesting and well paced. It's a literary triumph in such a small package!

Expand full comment
Nov 25, 2020Liked by Books on GIF

Are we allowed to talk about which books we want to receive as gifts? ;) I’m curious about the new Jess Walter novel, because I loved “Beautiful Ruins” and want something similarly light and enjoyable yet touching. So I only want the new one if it stacks up to Beautiful. I would also be interested in receiving the new Lionel Shriver, because I’ve enjoyed her previous books. And also “The Vanishing Half” looks good to me. Did BoG review? I feel like you did, but can’t remember.

Expand full comment
author

I did not review 'The Vanishing Half,' but it's on my list. I've heard that it's similar to, or almost a sequel to, 'Passing,' which I reviewed earlier this month. I read 'Beautiful Ruins' years ago, before BoG. I have not read his new book. But these are all good gift ideas!

Expand full comment
Feb 21, 2021Liked by Books on GIF

Recently I revisited Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier again. From the opening lines "Last night I dreamt I went to Mendarly again" till to the last page it never failed to lessen my interest of reading again.

Expand full comment